RSS

Persistence

25 Jan

 

Another area that is an obstacle to our prayer most times is our level of persistence. When we look at the way we serve God and pray to Him, we feel that we are very persistent but in reality we are not. As we pray, we calculate the time we spend in prayer, we watch the time as we pray. Even we don’t pray at times. I have heard in many occasions from christians that the time was not there to pray and God know their situation and at the end they complain that God don’t want to answer them.

The word of God cannot lie when we are persistent in our prayer, God will surely answer us at the right time. Jesus has showed example which we have to follow, are we following it? When Jesus Christ was with His disciples, He gave an illustration about the answer a persistent person will get.

And He said to them, which of you shall have a friend and go to him at night and say to him, friend, lend me three loaves, for a friend of mine has come to me on his journey and I have nothing to set before him and he will answer from within and say, do not trouble me,the door is now shut and my children are with me in bed, I cannot rise and give to you? I say to you, though he will not rise and give to him because he is his friend, yet because of his persistence he will rise and give him as many as he needs – Luke 11 : 5 – 10.

He said that his friend will not rise and give because he is his friend but rather because of his persistence. God is not ready to defraud anyone who is persistent, He is not ready to allow a persistent child of His to go through unnecessary suffering. There will be trials but with persistence, He will always provide a way out of every situation.

With persistence He will show you your vision in life, with persistence He will establish you, with persistence what seems to be impossible will become possible, with persistence any door that is closed against you will be opened, with persistence your suffering will become your breakthrough, with persistence your failure will become your success, with persistence those that hate you will become your helpers, with persistence your testimony will surprise your friends and shock your enemies.

Below are some bible verses about persistence:

Luke 18 : 1 – 8 – Then He spoke a parable to them, that men always ought to pray and not lose heart, saying, there was in a certain city a judge who did not fear God nor regard man. Now there was a widow in that city and she came to him, saying, get justice for me from my adversary. And he would not for a while, but afterward he said within himself, though I do not fear God nor regard man, yet because this widow troubles me I will avenge her, lest by her continual coming she weary me. Then the Lord said, hear what the unjust judge said. And shall God not avenge His own elect who cry out day and night to Him, though He bears long with them? I tell you that He will avenge them speedily. Nevertheless, when the Son of Man comes, will He really find faith on the earth?

1 Thessalonians 5 : 17 – Pray without ceasing.

Ephesians 6 : 18 – Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, being watchful to this end with all perseverance and supplication for all saints.

James 5 : 17 – 18 – Elijah was a man with a nature like ours and he prayed earnestly that it would not rain and it did not rain on the land for three years and six months. And he prayed again and the heaven gave rain and the earth produced its fruits.

Romans 12 : 12 – Rejoicing in hope, patient in tribulation, continuing steadfastly in prayer.

Genesis 32 : 24 – 32 – Then Jacob was left alone and a Man wrestled with him until the breaking of day. Now when He saw that He did not prevail against him, He touched the socket of his hip and the socket of Jacob’s hip was out……

1 Samuel 1 : 10 – 11 – And she was in bitterness of soul and prayed to the Lord and wept in anguish. Then she made a vow and said, O Lord of hosts, if You will indeed look on the affliction of Your maidservant and remember me and not forget Your maidservant, but will give Your maidservant  a male child, then I will give him to the Lord all the days of his life and no razor shall come upon his head.

Psalm 40 : 1 – I waited patiently for the Lord and He inclined to me and heard my cry.

Psalm 88 : 1 – O Lord, God of my salvation, I have cried out day and night before you.

PRAYER : O Lord my God, I give all the thanks and praises for being the Lord of my life. Give me the power to be persistent in my prayer, in my thank, in my praises and worship to You, so that at the end the glory will be given to You in the name of Jesus Christ.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on Jan 25, 2015 in Prayer

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.